Forgot your password?

Slashdot Items Tagged "privacy"

Date / TimeStory
Friday July 31, 2015 @07:34PM GasBuddy Has a New Privacy Policy (Spoiler: Not As Customer Friendly)
Friday July 31, 2015 @06:58PM Questioning the Dispute Over Key Escrow
Friday July 31, 2015 @03:04AM Hacker's Device Can Intercept OnStar's Mobile App and Unlock, Start GM Cars
Thursday July 30, 2015 @08:35PM Germany Won't Prosecute NSA, But Bloggers
Thursday July 30, 2015 @10:45AM A Naysayer's Take On Windows 10: Potential Privacy Mess, and Worse
Thursday July 30, 2015 @09:48AM Kentucky Man Arrested After Shooting Down Drone
Wednesday July 29, 2015 @07:44PM Symantec: Hacking Group Black Vine Behind Anthem Breach
Tuesday July 28, 2015 @11:36PM Honeywell Home Controllers Open To Any Hacker Who Can Find Them Online
Tuesday July 28, 2015 @09:43AM Your Stolen Identity Goes For $20 On the Internet Black Market
Monday July 27, 2015 @01:23PM Google Is Dropping Its Google+ Requirement Across All Products Including YouTube
Sunday July 26, 2015 @11:45PM After Progressive Insurance's Snapshot Hacked, Manufacturer Has Been, Too
Saturday July 25, 2015 @03:15PM Swiss Researchers Describe a Faster, More Secure Tor
Thursday July 23, 2015 @07:58PM Remote control of a car, with no phone or network connection required
Thursday July 23, 2015 @07:54PM A Tweet-Sized Exploit Can Get Root On OS X 10.10
Thursday July 23, 2015 @09:59AM US Court: 'Pocket-Dialed' Calls Are Not Private
Wednesday July 22, 2015 @07:52PM New York Judge Rules Against Facebook In Search Warrant Case
Wednesday July 22, 2015 @02:53PM Bug Exposes OpenSSH Servers To Brute-Force Password Guessing Attacks
Wednesday July 22, 2015 @01:59PM FCC CIO: Consumers Need Privacy Controls In the Internet of Everything Era
Tuesday July 21, 2015 @06:31PM As Nations Hack Each Other, Protecting Personal Information Must Become Priority
Tuesday July 21, 2015 @10:59AM Free Tools For Detecting Hacking Team Malware In Your Systems
Tuesday July 21, 2015 @09:45AM Red Star Linux Adds Secret Watermarks To Files
Monday July 20, 2015 @10:20PM Apple Patents Bank Account Balance Snooping Tech
Monday July 20, 2015 @01:28PM Netragard Ends Exploit Acquisition Program After Hacking Team Breach
Saturday July 18, 2015 @03:30PM Data Store and Spying Laws Found Illegal by EU Court
Wednesday July 15, 2015 @04:44PM OPM hack included fingerprints
Wednesday July 15, 2015 @01:29PM Citizenfour Director Sues To Find Out Why She Was Detained Every Time She Flew
Tuesday July 14, 2015 @09:53PM Critical Internet Explorer 11 Vulnerability Identified After Hacking Team Breach
Tuesday July 14, 2015 @05:20PM Security Fears Might Slowly Doom Adobe Flash
Tuesday July 14, 2015 @01:08PM New Default: Mozilla Temporarily Disables Flash In Firefox
Monday July 13, 2015 @07:21PM Encryption Rights Community: Protecting Our Rights To Strongly Encrypt
Sunday July 12, 2015 @11:15AM Snoopers' Charter Could Mean Trouble For UK Users of Encryption-Capable Apps
Friday July 10, 2015 @07:26AM More Than 22 Million People's Data Compromised By OPM Hack
Thursday July 09, 2015 @11:15PM UK Privacy Advocate Caspar Bowden Dies
Thursday July 09, 2015 @11:04PM Australian Cops and Anti-Corruption Agencies Keen On Hacking Team Malware
Thursday July 09, 2015 @01:52PM OpenSSL Patches Critical Certificate Forgery Bug
Tuesday July 07, 2015 @06:10PM Crypto Experts Blast Gov't Backdoors For Encryption
Tuesday July 07, 2015 @06:10PM 'Severe Bug' To Be Patched In OpenSSL
Tuesday July 07, 2015 @10:12AM Eric Holder Says DoJ Could Strike Deal With Snowden; Current AG Takes Hard Line
Friday July 03, 2015 @07:44AM Cameron Asserts UK Gov't Will Leave No "Safe Space" For Private Communications
Thursday July 02, 2015 @09:05PM UK Government Illegally Spied On Amnesty International
Wednesday July 01, 2015 @05:42PM Hundreds of Dark Web mirror sites 'booby-trapping' Tor users
Wednesday July 01, 2015 @05:36PM Federal wiretaps down slightly, encryption impact decreases
Wednesday July 01, 2015 @05:33PM Amazon's New SSL/TLS Implementation In 6,000 Lines of Code
Wednesday July 01, 2015 @05:27PM Federal Wiretaps Down Slightly, Encryption Impact Decreases
Tuesday June 30, 2015 @01:32PM UK Researchers Find IPv6-Related Data Leaks In 11 of 14 VPN Providers
Saturday June 27, 2015 @08:57AM NIST Updates Random Number Generation Guidelines
Friday June 26, 2015 @05:06PM Cisco Security Appliances Found To Have Default SSH Keys
Thursday June 25, 2015 @03:26PM Cisco Security Appliances Found to Have Default SSH Keys
Wednesday June 24, 2015 @07:59PM France, Up In Arms Over NSA Spying, Passes New Surveillance Law
Tuesday June 23, 2015 @03:57PM Ask Slashdot: Keeping Cloud Data Encrypted Without Cross-Platform Pain?
Tuesday June 23, 2015 @03:56PM Emergency Adobe Flash Patch Fixes Zero-Day Under Attack
Tuesday June 23, 2015 @01:56PM Hackers Exploit MacKeeper Flaw To Spread OS X Malware
Tuesday June 23, 2015 @09:47AM New Snowden Leaks Show NSA Attacked Anti-Virus Software
Monday June 22, 2015 @09:03PM DOJ Vs. Google: How Google Fights On Behalf of Its Users
Monday June 22, 2015 @06:15PM Louisiana Governor Vetoes License Plate Reader Bill, Citing Privacy Concerns
Monday June 22, 2015 @04:29PM Controversial GCHQ Unit Engaged In Domestic Law Enforcement, Online Propaganda
Monday June 22, 2015 @12:57PM Allstate Patents Physiological Data Collection
Monday June 22, 2015 @12:44PM Swedish Investigators Attempt Assange Interview; Wikileaks Makes Major Release
Wednesday June 17, 2015 @11:26PM Canadian Government Servers Compromised By Anonymous
Wednesday June 17, 2015 @06:45PM E-Detective Spy Tool Used By Police and Governments Has Major Security Holes
Wednesday June 17, 2015 @03:41PM Is Surespot the Latest Crypto War Victim?
Wednesday June 17, 2015 @03:31PM Privacy Advocates Leave In Protest Over U.S. Facial Recognition Code of Conduct
Wednesday June 17, 2015 @02:26AM US Lawmakers Demand Federal Encryption Requirements After OPM Hack
Tuesday June 16, 2015 @11:49AM Should Edward Snowden Trust Apple To Do the Right Thing?
Monday June 15, 2015 @08:10PM Journalist Greenwald denies claim that Snowden files breached
Monday June 15, 2015 @08:01PM LastPass Reporting a Security Breach, Including Authentication Hashes and Salts
Monday June 15, 2015 @08:01PM US Navy Solicits Zero Days
Monday June 15, 2015 @06:19PM Belgian Privacy Watchdog Sues Facebook
Monday June 15, 2015 @03:46AM Police Scanning Every Face At UK Download Festival
Sunday June 14, 2015 @11:15AM Santander To Track Customer Location Via Mobiles and Tablets
Sunday June 14, 2015 @01:42AM Amazon Publishes Opaque Transparency Report
Saturday June 13, 2015 @03:05PM Germany Abandons Investigation Into NSA Spying on Chancellor Merkel
Thursday June 11, 2015 @11:36AM New OpenSSL Security Advisory Announced
Thursday June 11, 2015 @11:05AM Whitehouse Mandates HTTPS For Government Sites and Services
Thursday June 11, 2015 @09:42AM OpenBazaar, Born of an Effort To Build the Next Silk Road, Raises $1 Million
Wednesday June 10, 2015 @07:46PM German Parliament May Need To Replace All Hardware and Software To Stop Malware
Wednesday June 10, 2015 @07:42PM Kaspersky Lab Reveals Cyberattack On Its Corporate Network
Wednesday June 10, 2015 @07:30PM Fake Mobile Phone Towers Found To Be "Actively Listening In" On Calls In UK
Wednesday June 10, 2015 @12:51PM Kaspersky Lab Reveals Cyberattack On Its Corporate Network
Wednesday June 10, 2015 @12:17PM US Tech Giants Ask Obama Not To Compromise Encryption
Tuesday June 09, 2015 @12:01PM US Army Website Hacked By Syrian Electronic Army
Tuesday June 09, 2015 @11:55AM Undetectable NSA-linked hybrid malware hits Intel Security radar
Tuesday June 09, 2015 @11:54AM Obama lawyers ask FISA court to ignore 2nd circuit's decision on spying
Tuesday June 09, 2015 @09:28AM Developer Draws Legal Threat For Exposing Indian Telco's Net Neutrality Violation
Sunday June 07, 2015 @06:55PM Report: Internet Users Feel Powerless To Protect Their Privacy From Corporations
Saturday June 06, 2015 @03:13PM "Einstein 3" Fooled By "Chinese" Hackers In Massive Government Data Breach
Friday June 05, 2015 @07:39AM US Prosecutors Say Clearing Browser Data Can Be Obstruction of Justice
Friday June 05, 2015 @07:33AM Governments of the World Agree: Encryption Must Die!
Thursday June 04, 2015 @09:51PM US Office of Personnel Management Hacked Again
Tuesday June 02, 2015 @09:58PM Tim Cook: "Weakening encryption or taking it away harms good people"
Tuesday June 02, 2015 @09:56PM DEA eavesdropping tripled, bypassed federal courts
Tuesday June 02, 2015 @09:48PM New SOHO Router Security Audit Uncovers Over 60 Flaws In 22 Models
Tuesday June 02, 2015 @04:12PM FBI Is Behind Mysterious Flights Over US Cities
Tuesday June 02, 2015 @08:23AM US Airport Screeners Missed 95% of Weapons, Explosives In Undercover Tests
Saturday May 30, 2015 @07:36PM Orange County Public Schools To Monitor Students On Social Media
Saturday May 30, 2015 @06:03PM The Patriot Act May Be Dead For Good
Thursday May 28, 2015 @01:03PM Ads Based On Browsing History Are Coming To All Firefox Users
Thursday May 28, 2015 @08:57AM IRS: Personal Info of 100,000 Taxpayers Accessed Illegally
Tuesday May 26, 2015 @03:28PM Linux/Moose Worm Targets Routers, Modems, and Embedded Systems
Tuesday May 26, 2015 @02:50PM Exploit Kit Delivers Pharming Attacks Against SOHO Routers
Monday May 25, 2015 @05:47PM Sniffing and Tracking Wearable Tech and Smartphones
Monday May 25, 2015 @03:19PM Hackers Can Track Subway Riders' Movements By Smartphone Accelerometer
Monday May 25, 2015 @12:25PM Privacy Behaviors Changed Little After Snowden
Sunday May 24, 2015 @11:44PM San Bernardino Sheriff Has Used Stingray Over 300 Times With No Warrant
Sunday May 24, 2015 @06:18PM Firefox's Optional Tracking Protection Reduces Load Time For News Sites By 44%
Saturday May 23, 2015 @07:45AM NSA-Reform Bill Fails In US Senate
Saturday May 23, 2015 @01:13AM The Body Cam Hacker Who Schooled the Police
Thursday May 21, 2015 @11:11PM NSA Planned To Hijack Google App Store To Hack Smartphones
Thursday May 21, 2015 @09:37PM Factory Reset On Millions of Android Devices Doesn't Wipe Storage
Thursday May 21, 2015 @06:43PM What Was the Effect of Rand Paul's 10-Hour "Filibuster"?
Thursday May 21, 2015 @03:46PM Academics Build a New Tor Client Designed To Beat the NSA
Thursday May 21, 2015 @12:57PM CareFirst Admits More Than a Million Customer Accounts Were Exposed In Security Breach
Wednesday May 20, 2015 @06:55PM 'Logjam' Vulnerability Threatens Encrypted Connections
Wednesday May 20, 2015 @06:06PM Simple Flaw Exposed Data On Millions of Charter Internet Customers
Wednesday May 20, 2015 @12:09AM FTC Recommends Conditions For Sale of RadioShack Customer Data
Tuesday May 19, 2015 @12:49PM Trojanized, Info-Stealing PuTTY Version Lurking Online
Monday May 18, 2015 @10:25PM European Internet Users Urged To Protect Themselves Against Facebook Tracking
Sunday May 17, 2015 @03:25PM Kim Dotcom Calls Hillary Clinton an "Adversary" of Internet Freedom
Thursday May 14, 2015 @05:38PM Mobile Spy Software Maker MSpy Hacked, Customer Data Leaked
Thursday May 14, 2015 @04:56PM Academics Call For Greater Transparency About Google's Right To Be Forgotten
Thursday May 14, 2015 @11:31AM Online Voting Should Be Verifiable -- But It's a Hard Problem
Wednesday May 13, 2015 @08:09PM House Votes To End Spy Agencies' Bulk Collection of Phone Data
Wednesday May 13, 2015 @07:32PM US Passport Agency Contractor Stole Applicants' Data To Steal Their Identities
Wednesday May 13, 2015 @03:11PM Hackers Can Use Starbucks Gift Cards To Access Your Credit Cards
Tuesday May 12, 2015 @12:41PM Warrantless airport seizure of laptop "cannot be justified," judge rules
Tuesday May 12, 2015 @12:40PM Google Confirms Cops Can Wiretap Your Hangouts
Tuesday May 12, 2015 @12:39PM US Passport Agency Contractor Stole Applicants' Data To Steal Their Identities
Tuesday May 12, 2015 @12:23PM MuckRock FOIA Request Releases Christopher Hitchens' FBI Files
Monday May 11, 2015 @04:58PM Worker Fired For Disabling GPS App That Tracked Her 24 Hours a Day
Sunday May 10, 2015 @03:25PM The Challenge of Web Hosting Once You're Dead
Saturday May 09, 2015 @12:58PM Anonymous Tor Cloud Project Closes Down
Friday May 08, 2015 @06:29PM Dropbox Moves Accounts Outside North America To Ireland
Thursday May 07, 2015 @10:04PM James Comey: the Man Who Wants To Outlaw Encryption
Thursday May 07, 2015 @04:46PM No Justice For Victims of Identity Theft
Thursday May 07, 2015 @10:37AM US Appeals Court Says NSA Phone Surveillance Is Not Authorized By Congress
Thursday May 07, 2015 @07:33AM What To Say When the Police Tell You To Stop Filming Them
Thursday May 07, 2015 @01:23AM LinkedIn Used To Create Database of 27,000 US Intelligence Personnel
Wednesday May 06, 2015 @11:10PM Santa Clara County Opts Against Buying Stingray Due To Excessive Secrecy
Wednesday May 06, 2015 @09:04PM Sorority Files Lawsuit After Sacred Secrets Posted On Penny Arcade Forums
Wednesday May 06, 2015 @05:17PM FBI Releases Its Files On DEF CON: Not Amused By Spot-the-Fed
Wednesday May 06, 2015 @04:35PM Ancestery.com caught sharing DNA database with government
Wednesday May 06, 2015 @04:26PM Self-destructing virus kills off PCs
Tuesday May 05, 2015 @11:03AM How the NSA Converts Spoken Words Into Searchable Text
Monday May 04, 2015 @05:26PM Researchers Detect Android Apps That Connect to User Tracking and Ad Sites
Monday May 04, 2015 @01:12PM Hacking the US Prescription System
Monday May 04, 2015 @12:37AM WikiLeaks' Anonymous Leak Submission System Is Back After Nearly 5 Years
Sunday May 03, 2015 @02:56PM CareerBuilder cyberattack delivers malware straight to employers
Thursday April 30, 2015 @06:13PM FBI Slammed On Capitol Hill For "Stupid" Ideas About Encryption
Thursday April 30, 2015 @10:03AM Supreme Court To Consider Data Aggregation Suit Against Spokeo
Monday April 27, 2015 @11:22PM Texas Admonishes Judge For Posting Facebook Updates About Her Trials
Monday April 27, 2015 @05:17PM Indian Telecom Authority Releases a Million Email IDs, Taken Down By Hackers
Monday April 27, 2015 @11:44AM The Sun Newspaper Launches Anonymous Tor-Based WikiLeaks-Style SecureDrop
Thursday April 23, 2015 @06:20PM Good: Companies Care About Data Privacy Bad: No Idea How To Protect It
Thursday April 23, 2015 @09:21AM New Privacy Concerns About US Program That Can Track Snail Mail
Thursday April 23, 2015 @09:00AM Facebook's "Hello" Tells You Who's Calling Before You Pick Up
Wednesday April 22, 2015 @12:43PM McConnell Introduces Bill To Extend NSA Surveillance
Tuesday April 21, 2015 @10:04PM iOS bug breaks HTTPS
Tuesday April 21, 2015 @04:25AM Baltimore Police Used Stingrays For Phone Tracking Over 25,000 Times
Saturday April 18, 2015 @03:39PM The Upsides of a Surveillance Society
Saturday April 18, 2015 @02:33AM Twitter Moves Non-US Accounts To Ireland, and Away From the NSA
Friday April 17, 2015 @10:32PM Twitter moves non-US accounts to Ireland away from the NSA
Thursday April 16, 2015 @10:46PM Wikileaks Publishes Hacked Sony Emails, Documents
Tuesday April 14, 2015 @01:30PM Kludgey Electronic Health Records Are Becoming Fodder For Malpractice Suits
Tuesday April 14, 2015 @12:53PM In New Zealand, a Legal Battle Looms Over Streaming TV
Tuesday April 14, 2015 @08:40AM Bolivia Demands Assange Apologize For Deliberately False Leaks To the US
Monday April 13, 2015 @05:02PM Windows Remains Vulnerable To Serious 18-Year-Old SMB Security Flaw
Sunday April 12, 2015 @02:26PM The NSA Wants Tech Companies To Give It "Front Door" Access To Encrypted Data
Sunday April 12, 2015 @09:43AM French Intelligence Bill: 5 Web Hosting Providers Threaten To Leave the Country
Friday April 10, 2015 @02:51PM 'Let's Encrypt' Project Strives To Make Encryption Simple
Thursday April 09, 2015 @06:26PM Has Google Indexed Your Backup Drive?
Wednesday April 08, 2015 @05:46PM US Started Keeping Secret Records of International Telephone Calls In 1992
Wednesday April 08, 2015 @03:26PM Phone App That Watches Your Driving Habits Leads To Privacy Concerns
Wednesday April 08, 2015 @03:23PM AT&T Call Centers Sold Mobile Customer Information To Criminals
Wednesday April 08, 2015 @12:53PM Greenwald Criticizes Universities' Funding-Driven Collaboration With NSA
Tuesday April 07, 2015 @11:58AM Research Finds Shoddy Security On Connected Home Gateways
Monday April 06, 2015 @03:35PM Court Mulls Revealing Secret Government Plan To Cut Cell Phone Service
Monday April 06, 2015 @12:47PM Popular Android Package Uses Just XOR -- and That's Not the Worst Part
Sunday April 05, 2015 @01:34AM How To Make a Bitcoin Address With a TI-89 Calculator
Sunday April 05, 2015 @12:58AM After Anti-Donation Executive Order, Bitcoin Donations For Snowden Jump
Friday April 03, 2015 @09:02AM DHS wants access to license-plate tracking system, again
Thursday April 02, 2015 @09:20PM Android malware drops but there are still nearly 10 million affected devices
Wednesday April 01, 2015 @06:21PM Verizon Subscribers Can Now Opt Out of "Supercookies"
Monday March 30, 2015 @04:17PM Oops: World Leaders' Personal Data Mistakenly Released By Autofill Error
Monday March 30, 2015 @11:20AM Europol Chief Warns About Computer Encryption
Sunday March 29, 2015 @02:33PM NSA: We Mulled Ending Phone Program Before Edward Snowden Leaks
Friday March 27, 2015 @12:31PM Big Vulnerability In Hotel Wi-Fi Router Puts Guests At Risk
Thursday March 26, 2015 @05:54PM Australia Passes Mandatory Data Retention Law
Thursday March 26, 2015 @01:19PM 'Bar Mitzvah Attack' Plagues SSL/TLS Encryption
Wednesday March 25, 2015 @03:17PM RadioShack Puts Customer Data Up For Sale In Bankruptcy Auction
Monday March 23, 2015 @11:34AM Leaked Snowden Docs Show Canada's "False Flag" Operations
Monday March 23, 2015 @11:30AM Cisco SPA300/500 IP Phones Vulnerable To Remote Eavesdropping
Monday March 23, 2015 @11:00AM Stallman joins Internet, talks net neutrality, patents and more
Sunday March 22, 2015 @07:25PM LightEater Malware Attack Places Millions of Unpatched BIOSes At Risk
Sunday March 22, 2015 @01:53PM UK Government Admits Intelligence Services Allowed To Break Into Any System
Sunday March 22, 2015 @11:40AM Islamic State Doxes US Soldiers, Airmen, Calls On Supporters To Kill Them
Sunday March 22, 2015 @11:19AM Taxi Apps Accused of Facilitating Sexual Harassment In Brazil
Saturday March 21, 2015 @01:51PM A Sucker Is Optimized Every Minute
Friday March 20, 2015 @09:30AM Leaked Document Reveals Upcoming Biometric Experiments At US Customs
Friday March 20, 2015 @07:05AM NZ Customs Wants Power To Require Passwords
Thursday March 19, 2015 @09:05PM Target To Pay $10 Million In Proposed Settlement For 2013 Data Breach

The longer the title, the less important the job.

 



Forgot your password?
Working...